A$AP Rocky Shares Release Date For New Album ‘Don’t Be Dumb’

A$AP Rocky hasn’t released a new album in over six years, but he is finally all set to drop fresh material later this summer.

On Friday (June 21), the New York City native made his debut at Paris Fashion Week by unveiling his “American Sabotage” collection at the Hôtel de Maisons.

As the 35-year-old’s AWGE models exhibited his latest designs and arrangements on the walkway, three unreleased tracks by him played filled the air and added more glow to his latest endeavor.

These tracks will most likely be on the rapper’s next album, Don’t Be Dumb, considering those same words were stamped on several flags outside the venue as well as on the clothing being displayed inside.

Soon after the event concluded, a pre-save link for the project went live online that reveals the new bundle of songs will arrive on August 30.

Right before the show, the “Goldie” hitmaker took a moment to explain the inspiration behind his latest collection.

“America in itself has a lot of historical values,” he told Hypebeast. “I’m putting light on my American story, my American horror story, my American story, my American sabotage.”

He went on to share that observing people of different ethnicities, cultures and backgrounds inspired his latest work, as he added: “I pull inspirations from all of that…refugees, incarcerations, mass incarcerations. I’ve been subject to all those things. I’m very familiar with all those things and for me this is just me sharing my ghetto expression.”

A$AP Rocky & A$AP Ferg Reunite To Preview New Music

While not much else is known about the upcoming LP, the rapper has previously claimed that it contains some of his best and most experimental work.

Last year, he told DAZED: “I’ve been really experimenting as usual and what I like about this is it feels like my best work yet. I want to leave expectations wide and open. I don’t want to tell you what to expect. I just want people to experience it how they do naturally.”

He has also dropped a number of songs over the last year, including “Same Problems?” and the Pharrell-produced “RIOT (Rowdy Pipe’n).” As of now, it isn’t clear if they will make the cut.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button